Congressman Greg Gianforte announced the recipients of the 2017 Montana Congressional Veteran Commendation, for recognition of Montana veterans who served our country and continued their service in their communities.

“I am humbled to represent a state with such a large veteran population, and I am honored to recognize 14 exemplary veterans with the 2017 Montana Congressional Veterans Commendation. Their service and sacrifice for our country as well as their continued dedication to improving our communities merit special recognition in Congress,” Gianforte said. “On behalf of all Montanans, I thank them for their selfless service to country and community.”

Gianforte created the annual Montana Congressional Veteran Commendation to recognize outstanding Montana veterans. In October, Gianforte asked Montanans to help identify nominees for the special award. The 14 recipients will receive a special flag that flown over the U.S. Capitol in their honor on Veterans Day.

2017 Montana Congressional Veteran Commendation Recipients:

Richard “Dick” Allgood of Big Sky – U.S. Air Force; Vietnam War
Gene Bell of Belgrade – U.S. Marine Corps; World War II
William “Bruce” Charles of De Borgia – U.S. Air Force; Vietnam War
Richard Gale of Bozeman – U.S. Marine Corps; Vietnam War
Gary Germundson of Scobey – U.S. Army and U.S. Army Reserve; Vietnam War
Theron “David” Gertz of Butte – U.S. Navy; 1986-1990
Michael Lawson of Butte – U.S. Marine Corps; Vietnam War
Phillip Lyons of Butte – U.S. Navy & U.S. Navy Reserve; World War II and Korean War
Daniel Ritter of Bozeman – U.S. Marine Corps; Operation Restore Hope
Frank Stoltz of Miles City – U.S. Army Air Corps; World War II
Kevin Strickler of Belgrade – U.S. Marine Corps; 1983-1986
Kyle Sukhbir of Livingston – U.S. Army; Operation Enduring Freedom
Loice “L.A.” Trotter of Libby – U.S. Army Air Corps; World War II
Stanley Watson of Forsyth – U.S. Marine Corps; Vietnam War


GOP Congressional Candidate Greg Gianforte Campaigns In Great Falls, MT
Getty Images

More From KMMS-KPRK 1450 AM