BOSTON, MA - APRIL 14: Police officers patrol the finish line of the Boston Marathon, on April 14, 2014 in Boston, Massachusetts. Last year, two pressure cooker bombs killed three and injured an estimated 264 others during the Boston marathon, on April 15, 2013. (Photo by Andrew Burton/Getty Images)

Read or Subscribe to all Tom Egelhoff’s Daily Blog Posts by Clicking Here

This year the Boston Marathon will take place on Monday, April 20th. Because of the large number of runners they are released in waves. Thirty thousand runners are expected in 2015. This year four waves of runners will leave the starting line in 25-minute intervals.

There will also be mobility impaired waves and elite women.

Boston Marathon Bombing 2013

During the 2013 marathon two bombs went off near the finish line of the race. Three people, including an 8-year-old boy, were killed. Two hundred sixty-four people were injured.

Dzhokhar Tsarnaev, 21, was convicted last week of the bombings. His brother was killed in a shoot out with police the same day as the bombing.

Boston Marathon Facts

  • It is estimated that one million spectators will view the race.
  • A highly visible police presence and plain clothed officers will be manning security checkpoints and doing bag inspections. Personal items are to be carried in clear plastic bags.
  • Runners and spectators will be subject to a strict list of “do not carry” items.
  • The Boston Marathon is the world’s oldest marathon.
  • It is always run on the Patriot’s Day holiday that commemorates the battles of Lexington and Concord.
  • The top male and female runners take home $150,000.
  • Over twenty-six thousand runners entered the 2012 race and 21,616 finished.
  • You can text a message to your favorite runner that will appear on three big screens along the course.
  • The Boston Marathon was the first to include a wheelchair division in 1975.
  • Mike Dukakis, former Governor of Massachusetts and presidential candidate finished 57th as a high school student in 1951.
  • After 116 years of the race the 500,000th finisher happened on April 16, 2012
  • Last years men’s winner was Meb Keflezighi of the United States
  • Women’s winner was Rita Jeptoo of Kenya.
  • Men’s wheelchair winner Ernst Van Dyk of South Africa
  • Women’s wheelchair winner Tatyana McFadden of the United States

Some Final Thoughts

The horrific bombings of 2013 will always be remembered. But the marathon goes on. One million people will watch 30,000 runners of all age’s nationalities, and colors line up to wait for the starter’s gun to fire.

Most run just to prove to themselves that they can finish. Only sharing their glory with friends and loved ones. For that one-day they push themselves beyond their own self-imposed limitations.

For that one-day they are all winners.

Read or Subscribe to all Tom Egelhoff’s Daily Blog Posts by Clicking Here